New-York Tasting part 2

Mis vinos el Metropolitan Pavilion de New-York…

10.00 am… Guest starts to arrive for the presentation of the catalan wines made by Pitu Roca, from El Celler de Can Roca – Second best restaurant in the World !!

 I can catch with my Iphone Radio Cap de Creus « on live » , so nice to have some news while in New-York !! Nuria does the translation while « Pitu » speaks…. the room is full and the guest very attentive !

The day is long but quite a few good contacts, to follow in the near future.

I take the opportunity to taste the wines from some other producers:  Very interesting, discovering a « specific » grape form Terra Alta and some others delicious Catalan wines….Visitors loved my labels and the wines too, let’s hope we can do something !

I keep  meeting importers and presenting my wines while visiting New-York, as well as having drinks and diner with old friends I had not seen for years: Great !

Great experience in this restaurant recommended by a friend of mine : « Diner« .... Came to eat a « T-bone steack » but…. no meat for lunch… « we serve only light meals »…Fuck it ! So I order a proper burger with real meat, delicious spicy tomato sauce and what an ambiance, with a bottle of french wine. I have to explain myself  » I am french….. and wine producer…… so I drink wine and support my colleagues….Not sure he understands me, one bottle for one guy, doesn’t seams normal to him ». He comes back to me and tells me the producer which wine I am drinking are coming to tonight for some meat: Lucky Mr & Mme Breton from Domaine Breton 

Love the déco 70’s style…fell like Bruce Springsteen or Bob Seger are going to appear !

The first time I hear » Sorry we don’t have Coca-Cola…. but we have a local cola »…

Cross the bridge from Brooklyn back to Manhattan….walking in New-York, that’s a great experience too & when tired just grab a yellow cab trying to get a « Ford » one and not these modern « SUV style ones » ! ….

….still american flags everywhere, would be nice to see the same in Catalunya, Spain or France more often !

Amazed by the kindness of every one met during my first stay: my friends – seems normal :))) – people in the street when you ask your way; in bars; in restaurants; driving – incredible how relaxing it is although driving rules are different.. -; to get my train: in the cab – especially when you say you are a wine producer… – One of my Cab driver was very happy to tell me he liked « Mouton-Cadet » (for France…:))) ) and Concha y Tro for « nice and cheap Cab. Sauv. – 2 brands within the TOP 10 . In fact it « seemed so much » that I don’t know it I had coped with it for another week ! ONE major problem, could’nt find A PLACE where to drink a proper « espresso », even in New-York…just can’t believe it !

Another day.. last one ! Shopping for the kids on 5th Avenue….

… packing and train to go and meet a friend who’s in the wine business too and celebrate 11-11-11 at his house before getting back tomorrow…

A few expressions: « OOOOOHHHH MY GOOOODDD », « Geeeee », « Hi man ! »

Will be back, definitely: haven’t tried travelling by bus, need to see more « country music clubs » with my friends, etc… 2 to 3 time a year will be a good way to discover and enjoy AMERICA and promote my wines which will be available begining of 2012… YEEEAAAHHHH !!

Best

IVO

Laisser un commentaire

